Chicago Chapter 2010 Annual Meeting

Our Chicago Chapter Annual Meeting was held on March 25, 2010 at DePaul University, Lincoln Park Campus Student Center.

We thank our keynote speaker Dr. Jeff Lichtman, Harvard University for his presentation on the “Connectomics in the Developing Nervous System”.

The Presidential Symposium on “Traumatic Brain Injury” was chaired by Dr. Evan Stubbs Jr. and Dr Dorothy Kozlowski, with presentations from Dr. Deborah M. Little, The University of Illinois Medical Center, Dr. Romona Hicks, Program Director, Repair and Plasticity, NIH/NINDS and Dr. Mayumi L Prins, University of California Los Angeles. We greatly appreciate their participation.

During the afternoon two concurrent symposia were organized by Dr. Anna Lysakowski and Dr. Miriam Domowicz on “Developmental Disorders” and Dr. Patrizia LoPresti
and Dr. Beth Stutzmann on “To Stall or Go the Distance: Insight into the Transport Disarray of Dementia”.
We thank all the excellent speakers of these three sessions:
Dr. Stephanie Ceman, Department of Cell & Developmental Biology, University of Illinois at Champagne-Urbana
Dr. Yuanyi Feng, Department of Neurology and Center for Genetic Medicine, Northwestern University, Feinberg School of Medicine
Dr. Gordon Shepherd, Department of Physiology, Northwestern University, Feinberg School of Medicine
Dr. Vladimir I. Gelfand, Department of Cell and Molecular Biology Northwestern University’s Feinberg School of Medicine
Dr. Gerardo Morfini, Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology, University of Illinois at Chicago
Dr. Mohan Gupta, Department of Molecular Genetics and Cell Biology, University of Chicago

Congratulations to the winners of the Graduate Student Competition:

First Place ($250 plus nomination for travel award to 2010 SfN)
Margaret G. Distler, Greta Sokoloff, Abraham A. Palmer
The role of GIq1 in anxiety-like behavior
University of Chicago

Second Place ($150)
Sahadev Shankarappa, Erika Piedras-Renteria, Evan B. Stubbs, Jr.
Forced-exercise protects against altered voltage-gated calcium channel function in experimental diabetic neuropathy
Loyola University Chicago & Edward Hines Jr. VA Hospital

Third Place ($100)
Aditiben Patel, Brinda Desai, Paul Carvey, Bill Hendey
An angiogenic inhibitor reduces dompamine neuron loss and neuroinflammation in an MPTP mouse model of Parkinson’s disease
Rush University Medical Center



Congratulations to the winners of the Postdoc Poster Competition:

First Place ($250 plus nomination for travel award to 2010 SfN)
C Von Zee and EB Stubbs, Jr.
Regulation of Rho G-protein expression and signaling by lovastatin in human trabecular meshwork cells
Loyola University Chicago & Edward Hines Jr. VA Hospital

Second Place ($150)
J Wu, G Lei, M Mei, Y Tang, H Li
Characterization of a novel ER protein C20orf116 in the ER dynamics and stress response
Northwestern University

Third Place ($100)
DJ Morgan, BJ Davis, P Hawkins, AN Goldberg, SE Hastings, C Hathaway, and K Mackie
Mutation of phosphorylation sites involved in cannabinoid receptor (CB1) desensitization makes mice that are hyper-responsive to 9-THC.
Indiana University




At the Undergraduate level we congratulate:
First Place ($250)
T Lazicki, C Amick, JD Lewine
Somatosensory evoked magnetic fields following mild and moderate head trauma
Dominican University

Second Place ($150)
SC Peszek, ES Rohn, X Udad, A Abuaf, A Miller, F Hynes
Structural studies and neurotoxic effects of a soluble oligomer of the amyloid beta peptide fragment (22-35)
DePaul University

Third Place ($100)
B McBride, K Bonnick, IE Calin-Jageman, R Calin-Jageman
Quantitative analysis of changes in gene expression following long-term sensitization of the Aplysia tail-elicited siphon withdrawal reflex
Dominican University

D Atchley, ER Venheim, M Padival, JA Rosenkranz
The time-course of the effects of stress on affective behavior in rodents
Lake Forest College


Many thanks to Dr. Dean Hartley, Dr. Dorothy Kozlowski and Dr. David Rademacher for organizing these competitions.
The organization committee is very grateful for the on-site help of many students and post-docs during this meeting. Without your help the resounding success of our 2010 Annual Meeting would not have been possible!

The Chicago Chapter of the Society for Neuroscience would like to further congratulate Dr. Cynthia Von Zee, winner of the postdoctoral poster competition and Ms. Margaret Distler, winner of the graduate symposium competition for being awarded Postdoctoral and Graduate Student Travel Awards from the Society for Neuroscience. They will be participating in the SfN’s 40th Annual Meeting, scheduled for Nov. 13-17 in San Diego, CA.